Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40

Thread: FAQ from MOBILE-FILES.COM

  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default important information about "hanging" or "rebooting" K790 phones.

    K790 Phone hang

    Only Applicable for K790!

    Background:
    One of the main reasons for permanent phone hangs at start up or standby
    can be resolved by replacing two resistors under the Bluetooth cavity.

    Instruction:
    ROA (PCB) with revision R3A and R3B have not been modified.
    ROA (PCB) with revision R3C has the new resistor values already from
    factory.
    ROA (PCB) with revision R3D has a new version of Dolphin 2 which prevents
    the problem and they SHOULD NOT have the resistors replaced.

    For ROA revision R3A and R3B with permanent phone hang at start up or
    standby:
    Change:
    R1404 to 470 ohms, REP 621 003/47.
    R1405 to 4.7k ohms, REP 621 004/47
    Both resistors are located under the Bluetooth cavity
    Attached Thumbnails

  2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  3. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Case:
    Let's say you have a DB2020 phone with some GDFS issue, say you wrote K800 firmware to a K790 and now you have "no network".

    Solution:You'll have to rewrite the original GDFS. Sadly, most users never back it up before proceeding with whatever operation they intended to do in the first place. This is done through the "Read GDFS" button in SETool, btw . it will produce a .bin-file named with the phones IMEI and can be found in your SETool basedir. Take good care of it.

    Now, lets say you didn't back up the phones GDFS and did something to screw it up. Then you have a problem, because rewriting it with another phones GDFS will screw the security units and the phone will be bricked. Generally a bad thing, right ?.

    Luckily, there is a way to solve this and the procedure is as follows:


    Use only COM/UFS interfaces!

    1 (Optional): Back up the corrupt GDFS (yes, even though it's corrupted, so you have a full backup just in case). Again: "Read GDFS". Move it to a safe place on your HD, this is to avoid accidentally deleting it and for avoiding confusion with all the other txt-files that will appear later on.
    2: Create a scriptfile (a normal txt-file will do) with the following contents:
    Code:
    gdfsread:00020e5a
    gdfsread:00020e48
    gdfsread:00010851
    gdfsread:00000006
    gdfsread:0000000E
    gdfsread:00000013
    gdfsread:0000001C
    gdfsread:00000018
    gdfsread:000000AA
    Now save it. Name it "readsecunits.txt" or whatever. Select the file in SETool's MISC-field and press "Write SCRIPT".

    All the read units will be stored in a single file named by the phone's IMEI.
    rename it as "secunitsbackup.txt" to avoid confusion


    3: Apply the GDFS from a working DB2020 phone.
    - Read it out from the source phone (it will be stored in the SETool basedir named by the source phone's IMEI)

    - Check "Format GDFS" in "Settings" and write it to the damaged phone by selecting it in the MISC-field and pressing "Write GDFS".
    If the phone in question is OTP/FLASH CID52, DO NOT CHECK "Format GDFS"

    Do NOT turn the phone on afterwards.

    4: Now, you'll have to write back the original units. Apply the "secunitsbackup.txt" you created by selecting it in the MISC-field and pressing "Write SCRIPT".

    Voila, it should have done the trick.
    I'll ask the_laser to produce some DB2020 GDFS files in case you don't have a working phone to read from.

    Another method (Without the need for GDFS backup/etc...)

    Create and execute the following script:

    Code:
    gdfswrite:000000ACXX
    Set XX to whatever corresponds to your phones bandlock:

    Code:
    ;00 MS_GSM900
    ;01 MS_EGSM900
    ;02 MS_DCS1800
    ;03 MS_PCS1900
    ;04 MS_GSM900_DCS1800
    ;05 MS_EGSM900_DCS1800
    ;06 MS_GSM900_PCS1900
    ;07 MS_EGSM900_PCS1900
    ;08 MS_DCS1800_PCS1900
    ;09 MS_GSM900_DCS1800_PCS1900
    ;0a MS_EGSM900_DCS1800_PCS1900
    ;0b MS_GSM850
    ;0c MS_GSM850_PCS1900
    ;0d MS_EGSM900_GSM850
    ;0e MS_DCS1800_GSM850
    ;0f MS_EGSM900_DCS1800_GSM850
    ;10 MS_EGSM900_GSM850_PCS1900
    ;11 MS_DCS1800_GSM850_PCS1900
    ;12 MS_EGSM900_DCS1800_GSM850_PCS1900

  4. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  5. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    I've made this little guide so that more users will be able to use HyperTerminal in detecting phone HW problems. Too many users are blaiming SETool for their dead phones.

    Case:
    Let's say you're only getting a white screen when turning your phone on, or that you're getting the infamous "Can't get packet properties."-error.

    Solution:
    Either pick a random reason (and that won't do much good for your phone )or do the following to see if the phone itself can provide you with a hint:

    1: Open HyperTerminal (Start->Programs->Accessories->Communications).
    2: Configure a name for the connection. I've called mine "Debug".
    3: Select the proper COM port.
    4: Configure baudrate and press "OK".
    5: In the "Transfer"-menu, click "Capture Text", then choose a path and name for the log. You will see that the "Capture" indicator has been activated.
    6: Attach a powered-off phone (the phone might start charging, this is OK). Give it a minute or two to run selftests, then post the captured text as an attachment if you want an opinion from us.

    Code:
    FSFLASH: NAND Flash device @ [0x50000000-0x5FFFFFFF] 262144 Kb
    FSFLASH:   Vendor (0x20): ST
    FSFLASH:   Device: NAND02GR3B (0x00AA)
    ............
    FSFLASH: Bad block found @ 0x50000000
    FSFLASH: Bad block found @ 0x50020000
    FSFLASH: Bad block found @ 0x50040000
    .................
    FSFLASH:   Bad block @ 0x500C0000 replaced by 0x501C0000
    FSFLASH:   Bad block @ 0x500E0000 replaced by 0x501E0000
    FSFLASH:   Too many bad blocks
    If you see this during flashing, it's safe to assume that SETool is not to blaim. (The above error is not related to a case of WSOD, it's only for demonstrational purposes).
    Attached Thumbnails

  6. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  7. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Q: i flashed CHINESE flash into my P990/M600 phone, but after power on phone starts to reboot ;(

    A: "reboot loop" can be fixed by writing
    "3_P1A_Zebra_R8_CCPU_GDFS_QWERTY_keyboard_sett ings .gdfs" file in phone.

    - go to PDA tab
    - select file in misc edit
    - press write script. note - if yours PDA is NEW revision, you will need 1 credit.

    hint: you can add that file into firmware package with any zip-capable archiver, by doing that you can save one credit when you will flash P990/M600 with chinese flash.

    thanks goes to imobile for careful research of that reboot bug.

    Q: i want to change keyboard layout on my P990/M600.

    A: write desired keyboard settings file, same way as in previous question.

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  9. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    q: What languages are in PDA generic world1 and generic world2 ?

    a: Languages included in World1 and 2 are;
    American English (AE), Arabic (AR), Canadian French (CF), Czech (CS), Danish (DA), Dutch (NL), Finnish (FI), French (FR), German (DE), Greek (EL), Hebrew (IW), Hungarian (HU), Latin American Spanish (XL), Norwegian (NO), Polish (PL), Portuguese (PT), Russian (RU), Swedish (SV), Spanish (ES), Turkish (TR).

  10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  11. #16
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Q: I'm unlocking many A1 phones using CSCA method,my comports number is about ~300 and that things really annoy me.
    Are there any way to fix it ?

    A:

    save next strings in file "reset.reg" and execute in windows explorer.
    that will reset first available comport to 5. (read: next time new comport will be installed it will be COM5)

    important!
    you need to UNINSTALL present phone drivers in order to reset comports,which are allocated for them.

    Code:
    REGEDIT4
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\COM Name Arbiter]
    "ComDB"=hex:0f,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
      00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
    improtant update
    if you will execute attached .reg file, then SAME MODELS of phones with DIFFERENT IMEI will not be discovered as NEW,
    if attached to SAME USB PORT.

  12. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  13. #17
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Q: I want to reset lifetime counter,flip counter, etc on DB2020,PNX5230 phone.

    A:

    execute following script

    Code:
    gdfswrite:00000099000000
    gdfswrite:0000009B00000000
    gdfswrite:0000009D00000000
    gdfswrite:00020E000000000000000000
    gdfswrite:00020DC80000000000000000
    Q: I want to flip counter on DB2010 phone.


    A:

    execute following script.

    Code:
    gdfswrite:000200С9С00000000
    Q: I want to reset lifetime counter on A2 phone.

    A:

    execute following script (note, you SHOULD use setool2 >=v0.914012)

    Code:
    tawrite:0002188c00000000
    gdfswrite:0000012d00000000
    gdfswrite:0000012e00000000
    gdfswrite:0000012f00000000
    gdfswrite:0000013000000000
    gdfswrite:0000013100000000
    gdfswrite:0000013200000000
    gdfswrite:0000188c00000000
    important!
    lifetimer will be reset on A2 phones only after firmware reflash. (maybe SEMC will change it in future)

  14. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  15. #18
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Q:
    i trying to service w810/w300/z530/z550/k310/k510 phone and getting
    such result
    Code:
    ChipID:8040,EMP protocol:0301
    PHONE IS RED RETAIL PRODUCT
    FLASH CID detected:49
    Speed:921600
    ldr_on_ldr hdr no ack,err:10
    what to do ? phone was working before !!! (variant: phone was dead before)

    A:

    that is hardware problem and nothing to do with software. usually it is bad soldered flash chip.
    latest mid-range semc phones quality is below zero.


    as last resort, you can try to raise voltage on FLASH VPP upto 12v
    (for start, try to flash it with dcu60, it also has increased voltage)

    but what say to customer if phone works before servicing?
    have no idea - think yourself- that is risk that you including in each service cost.
    sadly, but such thing can be happened - flash sector can read good, but fails on erase/write.


    Q:
    i trying to service w810/w300/z530/z550/k310/k510 phone and getting
    such result

    Code:
    Loader:060718 0842 LIE_DB2010_FLASHLOADER_R2A003_CXC1326738
    OTP LOCKED:1 CID:49 PAF:1 IMEI:00000000000000 CERT:RED
    
    REMOVE BATTERY FROM PHONE, THEN INSERT IT BACK
    THEN PRESS 'TESTPOINT OK'
    
    Open COM port OK
    ChipID:8040,EMP protocol:0301
    PHONE IS RED RETAIL PRODUCT
    FLASH CID detected:49
    Speed:921600
    Trying to launch embedded bootloader...
    Abort all operations.
    embedded bootloader not responds !
    Elapsed:46 secs.
    phone has damaged EROM.
    solution - make reset procedure.

  16. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  17. #19
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    SI K510 i/c No or Weak Network
    Affected product
    K510 i/c

    Information
    If a K510 i/c is returned with complaints of, or similar to:
    • No network coverage,
    • Low network coverage,
    • No signal,
    • Weak signal.

    Then in some cases, the problem can be fixed by running the script "K510i/c Low or no network coverage patch".

    Code:
    gdfswrite:000000ac0a
    gdfswrite:0000006905

  18. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


  19. #20
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MySQL
    Posts
    41

    Default

    K550/W610 Key problem

    This is applicable for K550/W610 all models.

    When camera key is slightly depressed main keypads keys 4, 0, 6 will not function.

    Solution;
    Advise customer not to depress camera key when using main keypad.


    FUNNY SOLUTION, EH ?

  20. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to GSM™ For This Useful Post:


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •